22A Oak Street | Plattsburgh, NY 12901
facebook linkedin google-plus-icon MindBody Icon

Yoga for Athletes & Active Lifestyles


This class is taught by:

Emily Cole

RYT 200

Emily began practicing yoga as a way to balance running. She appreciated the many compliments yoga provided to running: increased flexibility, strength and injury prevention, but as her practice became more regular yoga affected her on a deeper more emotional level. After her practice she just felt better, happier and healthier. Her practice soon became a daily mindful ritual. Through breath work and a sequence of postures Emily found peace and calm on her mat and the stresses of daily life became more manageable.

In 2015 Champlain Valley Family Center where Emily is employed , invested in her training to become a certified yoga instructor to implement and offer a prevention based yoga program to their clients. Yoga has been proven to be a very effective healing tool for those in recovery from addiction.

Emily earned her 200 hour teacher certification on May 2016 at Burlington Yoga under Piper Abbott/Candra Prabha. During her training with Piper and her many hours with BY instructors Emily’s passion for correct alignment, breath based movement and cultivation of body and mind awareness grew and her practice blossomed.

Emily is thrilled to share yoga with others. Whether she is teaching those in recovery from addiction, athletes, or anyone that is just searching for a way to de-stress and a quiet mind, her goal is for students to leave class feeling better than when they came physically, emotionally , and mentally..

“In order to realize the beauty of yoga in our lives, we must never forget that the prize is in the process”.
-Baron Baptiste

This class is designed to help athletes and those that lead active lifestyles to develop greater strength, flexibility and mental focus. We will focus on the areas most overused and prone to injury for athletic bodies. Hips, hamstrings, calves and feet will get special attention, though the practice will engage the whole body. Come to class expecting a sequence of asana to build core strength, balance and flexibility, as well as pranayamas to improve focus and de-stress. 
 
Even though this class will target issues that an athletic body faces specifically, it's still a well rounded class that anyone can attend whether an athlete or not.
 
All levels are welcome!

Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Jul 30 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Aug 06 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Aug 13 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Aug 20 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Aug 27 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Sep 03 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Sep 10 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Sep 17 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Sep 24 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Oct 01 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Oct 08 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Oct 15 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Oct 22 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Oct 29 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Nov 05 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Nov 12 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Nov 19 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole
  • Sun Nov 26 11:00 am - 12:15 pm with Emily Cole