22A Oak Street | Plattsburgh, NY 12901
facebook linkedin google-plus-icon MindBody Icon

Gentle Yoga


This class is taught by:

Melissa Light

RYT 200
 
Melissa's journey with yoga began in 2009 after receiving a new health diagnosis. She was searching for ways to cope with and manage stress, as well as regain her strength. She quickly learned that yoga was more than just a physical practice, as she began to notice changes on a much deeper level. Melissa decided to deepen her personal practice and received her yoga certification in July 2013 through Radiance Yoga Studio located in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia.

Melissa likes to explore fun sequencing and moving the body in different ways, using the physical practice of yoga as a movement in meditation. Classes vary week to week, depending on the focus or theme for the week, as well as, catering to what the students might need. Melissa invites her students to marinate within the breath and the pose - to really embody what is happening internally. She always encourages students to meet themselves where they’re at in the moment and to let go of any expectations. She enjoys using yoga props in class and offers modifications and/or stages to poses, so that students can explore what feels best in their bodies.

Melissa continues to attend workshops to deepen her practice, as she believes we are forever students of the practice. She has attended workshops/trainings with Shiva Rea, Matt Giordano, Justin Wolfer and Dice Iida Klein. She also has participated in a seminar with the Veterans Yoga Project and is trauma informed to offer mindful resilience yoga classes to those that suffer from PTSD and related challenges.

Melissa’s hope in sharing yoga with others is for them to discover their own inner light and to find the peace that’s deep within each and everyone of us, which in turn can be shared with the world.

The purpose and intention of this class is to release, unwind, let be, relax, and slow down. Think of it as 90 minutes of nourishment. This class helps release tension that is held within the body due to habitual patterns of movement. Each class focuses on the whole body. However, some weeks we may experiment with a stronger focus in an area of the body that we often overuse and/or neglect. Breath work, meditation and guided relaxations will also be weaved into the practice.
 
This class is open to all levels and abilities.
 
 

Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Sep 24 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Oct 01 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Oct 08 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Oct 15 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Oct 22 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Oct 29 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Nov 05 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Nov 12 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Nov 19 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Nov 26 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Dec 03 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Dec 10 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Dec 17 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Dec 24 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Dec 31 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Jan 07 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light
  • Sun Jan 14 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Melissa Light